Our Mission: Create Opportunities for People with Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities and their Families to Participate Fully in the Community

Case Management Redesign

Case Management Redesign refers to several initiatives that will help make accessing long-term services and supports easier by changing case management agencies to serve all HCBS waivers so people have one place to go, making sure there is the right number of case management agencies in Colorado, and increasing the quality of case management services.

Case Management Redesign Update Sept 1 2023September 8, 2023


Case Management Redesign and

New Case Management Agencies


Case Management Redesign (CMRD), a required statewide initiative, will create one place to go in each catchment area for case management services for all Health First Colorado Members accessing Long Term Support and Services (LTSS), including all Medicaid waivers. These places, called Case Management Agencies (CMA), aim to simplify access so individuals and families will be able to more easily find the right programs and services that work for them.

These changes will impact anyone who receives case management services from DDRC, including long term supports and services for all Home and Community Based Services (HCBS) Waivers, including Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities waivers, State Supported Living Services, Family Support Services. and Quality Assurance.

Recently, HCPF announced the RFP awards, meaning the entities who will perform up the roles of case management and become the CMAs. The announcement also outlined the timeframe for transition of case management services to the new CMAs. All new CMAs must be functioning by July 1, 2024. 

As a Community Centered Board, DDRC’s case management, quality assurance, and family support services will transition between March – July,1 2024 to these following new CMAs:

o  CMA for Jefferson and Clear Creek Counties: Jefferson County Dept. of Human Services

o  CMA for Gilpin County: Adult Care Management, Inc. (ACMI)

o  CMA for Summit County: Garfield County

HCPF, the current agencies (i.e., DDRC) and new CMAs will be sending additional information to members impacted by these changes. Members will remain with their current agencies until the functions transition to the new CMA.

Our commitment:

DDRC is committed to doing all that we can to work closely with the three new CMA agencies that will be taking over case management functions from DDRC to help make a smooth transition for the individuals and families we serve and our DDRC staff impacted by these changes.